She’s lost her mind

Written by: Vivian Wilson 

What I am about to confess to you may destroy any credibility that I may have earned from you over these last few months. Yep, in one short sentence, I could be done. But here goes……

I signed up for the 2015 Chevron Houston Marathon Lottery, the whole thing, all 26.2 miles.

I know, I said that I hate to run, and that’s true.  I know, I have one shiny new hip. I know, it’s been five years since I last trained seriously. I know, I am a Nana with seven grandchildren. And I know that I will have my 66th birthday less that three weeks after the race. But, what does any of this have to do with anything?

Here’s the deal. In 2008, when I ran my first marathon, I started with the walkers and finished in about 6 hours and 48 mins. I only intended to run one marathon, but I thought, “I can do better than that,” so I signed up for the 2009 C.H.M. and I finished in 6 hours and 3 mins. So I decided to train for the 2010 race, determined to finish under 6 hours, but I injured my hamstring in the 25K “warmup” race in Oct. I was not able to run the 2010 Chevron Houston Marathon.

Vivian_blog post pic

I really never gave another thought to running another marathon until a couple of weeks ago. Wendy, my sweet daughter-in-law, asked me if I was going to run the  2015 Chevron Houston Marathon. (I seriously do not know what she was thinking!) But, I went home from church that day considering the question. I had a few days to pray about it before the deadline. After prayerful consideration—I did it! I filled out the entry form, paid my entry fee, and waited for the drawing.

Well, Monday morning, while my coffee was brewing, I checked my emails, never even thinking about the lottery. And there it was, highlighted in blue:

Congratulations Vivian Wilson!  You are officially registered for the 2015 Chevron Houston Marathon.

Wow! I was surprised, happy, and excited. Then I started thinking about what I needed to do to prepare. Training starts July 5, so I need to join FortBendFit for a training plan and accountability. I need to make sure I drink enough water every day, and I need to mentally prepare myself to be disciplined to faithfully follow the plan, especially in the heat of the summer. Doing all of this will prepare me to run the best race that I can.  You see, I’m not running this race just so that I can say that I did, no, I’m running because I have a very realistic goal. I am determined to finish this race in under six hours.

As I think about running this 26.2 mile race, I can’t help but think about the other race that I am running, the race as a disciple of Christ. This race, too, requires discipline, perseverance, attention to the Plan, (God’s Word), accountability, and my heart, mind, and soul focused on the finish line. The goal is to finish in such a way that I hear my Heavenly Father say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”  Matt. 25:21

So while you are shaking your head, probably thinking that I have lost my mind, this is what is important to know about me and both races.  You can rest assured that I will give my best effort, that I will be disciplined to follow the plans, and I will keep my eyes focused on the finish line.

I don’t mind being called “crazy for Jesus”.

Still in training,

Vivian

One thought on “She’s lost her mind

Comments are closed.