Gifted

Written by: Vivian Wilson

spiritual_gifts_dove

Today I’m going to take full advantage of the opportunity that writing a blog offers. Since it’s my space, I am going to brag about one of my grandchildren. I could brag about all of them, and I will sooner or later, but today you just have to listen to me brag about one. (Or not. I guess you could click off.)

Proverbs 17:6  “Children’s children are a crown to the aged.”

Anyway, Friday, I went to the performance of “Frozen” put on by a bunch of kids of all ages, at a summer theater camp. These precious youngsters had four days to learn their lines, songs, and choreography.  They were amazing! But to me, the most amazing of all was Caitlin.

I know that I am a bit prejudiced, but I was blown away by  how really talented she is. Caitlin played the part of Anna, the lead role. She delivered her lines perfectly and on time, she was totally “in character”, fearless, unaffected by the audience, and her strong voice as she sang all of her songs brought tears to my eyes. This precious young lady has got talent! I am grateful that her parents are able to give her opportunities to discover her talents.

At age eleven, how many of us knew, really knew, what we were very good at? I would assume that most of us just lived each day doing what kids do; go to school, ride bikes, play at the playground, or just hang out with friends.

While we all have a talent or two, even more important and potentially fulfilling, is the fact that we all have a gift or two. These were given to us by God the moment we accepted Jesus as our Savior.

I say potentially, because it is up to us to discover what our gift is and then put it to use. Our Heavenly Father gives us opportunities to learn what our gifts are. The church has resources to help in our discovery also.

We have the responsibility to serve in areas that allow us to use our gifts. When we do, I believe we will have a wonderful sense of fulfillment and satisfaction. Everyone benefits, those who serve and those who are served.

1Cor. 12:7  “Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.”

1Cor. 14:12  “…Since you are eager to have spiritual gifts, try to excel in gifts that build up the church.”

I also believe that when God looks at us as we use our gifts for the kingdom, He is pleased and delighted.

So, I challenge you today: if you don’t know for sure what your gift is, find out, seek to discover it. Then find an opportunity to use it. If you know what your gift is and are not currently serving in an area where your gift is needed, seek the ministry opportunity that will benefit from your service. And for those who are using their gift in ministry, know that you are a well functioning part of the body of Christ.

1Cor. 12:18  “But in fact God has arranged the parts of the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.”

1Cor.12:27  “Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.”

A work in progress,

Vivian