The Army Seals

Written by: Rhonda Sue Page

Have you ever had a moment where you felt something boldly rise within you, like a fresh breath of purpose that stirred you to know you were created for more? Or maybe it was less dramatic, as in a series of days whereupon lifting your head from the chaos you fleetingly thought “There has to be more.”

Truthfully, I’ve had both. The former comes in a powerful wave and makes me believe anything is possible. The latter taunt is usually born of frustration and a touch of fear that maybe life is rushing passed me and I’m missing out. Interestingly enough, I find the cause and the cure are one and the same……..Time spent in His Presence always stirs a deep seated hunger to be more like Him and less like me.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t dislike me….it’s more that I just don’t trust me. All my life I’ve seemed to be this odd mix of amazing and disappointing wrapped up together….never sure at any given moment which would come spilling forth. And I’ve come far enough to realize that without cooperating with the Holy Spirit at work in me…….I’m doomed. I used to worry that this was some sort of sign that I was just wicked to my core. I’ve come to realize that’s not the case at all. I’m just weak to my core.

There’s a beautiful scripture that says it all:

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

This idea that Christians need to have it all together and have all the answers is pretty rotten. In fact, it reeks of pride, arrogance and self-sufficiency. What Christians need to have more of is humility and understanding for the fact that as humans we are in this brokenness together. Our enemy wants to wipe us all off the map and he could care less what symbol you happen to slap on your windshield or bumper. In fact he loves it when he can get one or more of us to run people off the road…….forgetting that it’s even there. Because those people would never want to darken the doorway of our church after that.

You and I are going to be tempted to behave badly. This isn’t about cleaning ourselves up to the point we can’t be tempted. This is about falling in love with the one we call “Lord” until becomes our actual…well, “Lord”. My desire to please Him and cry out for His help when I’m tempted is a behavior-changing force of nature after that.

We glorify God when we depend upon Him. It is an action that both acknowledges His existence and our need. We have need of a power source and He is that source. Just this simple act alone gives way to the revival of our spirits and the lifting of our heads…….and more days of believing that anything is possible.

Once that begins to happen the enemy gets nervous. A person who refuses to be discouraged is dangerous. The elite in the Army of God. (Kinda like the Navy Seals…….if they were in the Army……but they aren’t…….and my husband gets very irritated when I mention this.)
These Elite are willing to make whatever changes they have to in life to see the Kingdom of God advance. If that means letting someone cut us off of on FM359….so be it. “You know what?…..I preferred you to go ahead of me anyways Buddy!! Hooah! Simper Pie! Praise God!……….
…ooohhh, I’m suddenly hungry. Who’s up for Cracker Barrel after church kids?”

If I can trust Him that my best days are still out in front of me, It curbs the urge to fight and looses instead the freedom to let go and give. That’s the transforming power of Grace.

And don’t you dare go letting the enemy tell you that makes you a doormat. It takes huge amounts of courage and self control to not let others steal your joy. But it also happens to be the least stressed-out way to live when you’re not constantly handing over your God-given power to the enemy to torment you with. It makes you slippery……the devil can’t handle slippery people. I meant that figuratively……. but literally the visual makes me laugh too. (You’ve watched a mutton or greased-pig run before I hope.)

My prayer for you is that God infuses you with courage and the ability to dream big I don’t care how old (or young) you are. I want Him to give you eyes to see Him and Ears to hear Him and I want you to feel His manifested love toward you right where you are, just as you are.

Love Him with all your heart and do whatever you do to His glory……

Go be bold & slippery seals for Jesus!

…….Now excuse me while James once again explains the branches of the military and their mascots……oops, he’s scowling at me again.

Rhonda Sue

One thought on “The Army Seals

Comments are closed.