What are you waiting for…?

Written by: Ms. O

Anticipation….is making me wait…it’s keeping me waiting. I wish there was a way to type out the sound out that word “waiting”…the way it was sung….so many years ago…by Carly Simon. The way she drew out that word….embodied the feeling of it.

Anticipation…

There is much to be said about anticipation….knowing that what is ahead is going to be good…very good…and your heart….well….is anticipating….what it knows is coming.

It never fails when I bake cookies that I will end up tasting the batter before I bake it into fruition. I just can’t help myself. I know the whole health department warnings about eating raw cookie dough…eating raw eggs….whatever they claim. If that was true, I would be standing here dead…many times over. That piece of cookie dough…lump of luscious…gives a hint of what is to come…a tiding over of the goodness ahead.

Before I take a vacation, the waiting is the hardest part. I have visions in my head of what to expect….according to the internet. The pictures they show make your heart long for relaxation….tempting food offerings…and plush accommodations.  It is a giddy welling up in my soul…as the countdown begins….knowing that a well needed respite is ahead.

When my kids were little, the anticipation of what they will “become” is like watching history unfold. The first time they pick up a bat/ball/club…..bring home that first masterpiece…..write their composition “What I want to be when I grow up”….gave me as a parent a sense of wonder….as in “I wonder what they will….be”.  Neither of my kids are doing what I thought they would be doing when my thoughts of their future unfolded…in elementary school…but each part of their life was part of who they are now. Each event in their life….was in anticipation…of what they have become…and continue to be.

I think of anticipation in my spiritual life…waiting for what I know is ahead…getting a foretaste in the here and now.

Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror, then we shall see fact to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

There are key moments in the life of the church that give a vision of what awaits for us in Heaven. Baptisms….weddings…confirmations…graduations….give our hearts reasons to celebrate the milestones that bring joy.  Funerals…illness…loss of job/home/marriage…remind us that we are called to stick together…to help soften the blow of life’s harshness.

One day we will all gather again…the party will begin…with our Lord and Savior…and all the anticipation will be worth it. We live into today with anticipation of what tomorrow holds. Each day, God gives us a morsel to nibble on…so we get taste for the feast ahead. I know it keeps me coming to the table for more. Our time here is a poor reflection…like a website that can’t quite capture paradise because it is so awesome…but it is enough to keep me moving forward. Anticipation…it’s keeping me waiting…but I’m in good company.

Ms. O