…and I’m proud to be an American

Written by: Amy Dalke

Mere words written on this blog today cannot sufficiently honor the men and women who serve our country.

My prayer on this Memorial Day is that we will remember to not forget.

Gravestones decorated with U.S. flags to commemorate Memorial Da

Today, I will remember that brave soldiers have selflessly given their very lives for our freedom.

WASHINGTON, DC - JANUARY 27: Iwo Jima Memorial in Washington, DC

I will not forget that we live in the home of the free and the brave…because of the men and women who have the courage to serve this country.

Ms. O's father, Jay Shaw
Ms. O’s father, Jay Shaw

And whether you are a Lee Greenwood fan…or not, this song chokes me up every time…because it reminds me why I am proud to be an American.

God Bless America, by Lee Greenwood

US Flag

America! America! God shed His grace on thee,

And crown thy good with brotherhood

From sea to shining sea!

Amy

One thought on “…and I’m proud to be an American

Comments are closed.