Laugh Our Way To Love

Written By:  Rhonda Sue Page

I’d like to just take this moment and give a huge “awesome weather” shout out to God. It’s an all-out answer to prayer. I’d go so far as to mention that it’s because He favors me, but some of you get up-in-my-grill-grumpy when I do that…..so I won’t. (Mention that I’m his favorite, that is. It won’t happen.) I will however raise my hand and high-five Him in praise.

Did that make you tense?

That whole raising your hands in church thing a bit over the top for you maybe?

That’s okay, we’re still friends. I have something that might help though. This is a link for one of my all-time favorite comedians – Tim Hawkins. He does an exceptional job of explaining the levels of hand-raising and making you laugh at the same time.

Let’s face it, we could all use more grace to laugh away the divisive thwarts of the enemy.

Hand-raising’s not my nemesis……but I do have them. Here’s just a few of the things that make me tense:

 

*Cooking. Yes, I said cooking. Let’s move on…..

*Children that curse. This freaks me out. I get soapy-mouth flashbacks from my sassy days.

*Running late. I cannot even describe the personality change I undergo.

*FB bikini profile photos. Now, I’m no prude, but I AM working hard to raise Godly men who will value more.

*Target Shopping ……………. in a hurry. That’s not even possible. James says that’s because I have a BS disease.

MOM…..PUT. THE. SOAP. DOWN! It’s not what you think. It stands for Bright/Shiny Disease. I get easily distracted.

 

 

Thanks in advance for not un-friending me.

The bible says that Love is the one thing that will clearly distinguish God’s children on Earth:

Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.
John 13:35 NLT

Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. 1John 4:7 NLT

One of the many reasons my family was drawn to attend Faith is because of the undeniably strong sense of community and servanthood. This so pleases the heart of God, and we wanted to be a part of that.

I’m very thankful for you. I love being a part of your week and working alongside you. I appreciate hearing how you struggle and knowing I’m not alone in all that. I thrive on praying for you and agreeing with God that He has great things in store for you. I really love when we come together and make one another laugh with our crazy antics. You are such a joy to me. A joy that, in it’s own way, is every bit as valuable as my blood family is.

I especially love that it doesn’t matter how old you are, what gender you are, what you posses, or what talents you have……we need one another.
We need grace, forgiveness and room to grow. We also need the freedom to pray, worship and serve in any direction the Lord sends. You do all those things so very well!

So here’s a huge shout out to the Body of Faith UMC.

God favors you, and so do I.

But I’m still His favorite……
Rhonda Sue

p.s. Sorry, I really tried

p.s.s. Don’t forget to watch the link!