Thy Kingdom Come

Written By:  Rhonda Sue

Today is not for the faint of heart. Today we’re going deep….

There is a scripture in the bible that plainly states:

Do not copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.
Romans 12:2

The first time God gave me revelation on this verse it was to show me that I am not the one responsible for changing myself. God was beginning to teach me to stop trying to change the worst I saw in myself.  Instead I was to trust Him that He would. Granted, it is a work of partnership that God does as I yield Him my will….but it’s God who’s doing the work in me nonetheless.

Recently however, God has expounded on that revelation and this verse has become even more precious to me.

Allow me to explain.

Over the last few years God has asked me to begin viewing circumstances through His eyes. Instead of just asking myself “What would Jesus Do?” I also begin asking myself “How does God see it?”

HDGSI ………… okay, so maybe it’s not quite as catchy as WWJD. I suppose I could hold off on the rubber bracelet order.

Anyway……when I would get negative news or prayer requests, I begin to consider them through this filter. It really did something on the inside of me. It forced me to compare the worst satan could throw around against the indescribable greatness of God. For example…..How does God view cancer? How does God treat loss, destruction and death. Will I ever find Him cowering under the throne because of these things?

Why do this?

I believe now it’s because God was using that time to begin shaking fear off me. If I really believe what I claim to about God, and want everything He has for me…..…Fear can have no foothold in me, nor I in it.
It’s one thing to feel afraid…….it is quite another to let fear rule and reign inside you to the point of it keeping you from fulfilling God’s purposes for you. Often, God will ask you to “Just do it afraid, then.” Because obedience is key to living an abundant life here on Earth and to being “salt and light” in the darkness.
In turn, this practice greatly changed my prayer life. I found I stopped telling God how hard it was, how painful it seemed, how overwhelmed I felt. Instead I began declaring and decreeing God’s faithfulness toward the situation and His desire to work it out for the good. It’s not that I couldn’t express my feelings, mind you…..quite the opposite. I began focusing my feelings of gratitude on the One who had the ability to provoke real change.

Just recently we took our Pak to see the movie Heaven is for Real. If you haven’t seen it, I encourage you to go.
Don’t go getting all religious on me either. Watch it in the name of “entertainment” if you have to. I promise……..If you don’t walk away with more love for Jesus and even hungrier for revelation of the Father……It would still be an investment into people who will.

Sassy today, aren’t I?

The new revelation I got recently from the Holy Spirit regarding Romans 12:2 was on the subject of revelation itself. It is this: The revealing of God’s character is what is so very transforming in our lives. That “changing the way you think” bit starts and ends with God. When you begin to prayerfully seek to know God, He faithfully begins to show himself to you in ways that will leave you undone. That’s a good thing. He redoes you back up…….the right way.

I suppose when I first read Romans 12:2 I thought it meant I had a lot of bible reading to do to fight the negative mindsets and bad attitudes I held. In reality it isn’t about trying to fight the negativity at all. It’s about being so focused on God that my perspective gets shifted. It alines itself to His Truth and I’m left with fresh vision that naturally begins to show up in my behavior. I don’t have to “try” to fight the old me. I just get to to trust God to replace the lies with the revelation of the truth until I become more the me I was meant to be….…the reflection of Jesus Christ.

Colton’s story does that for me. Focusing on a God that has so many wonderful things to share with his children turns my eyes from evil and puts hope back in my chest. I don’t want to cling so tightly to the things of this world anymore. I want to open my hands and share because God so gloriously shares……..and I want to be just like Him. I don’t have to worry about any unfulfilled dreams, missed callings or expired opportunities here on the earth. The gifts & talents God gives are without revocation. That means I’ll still have them in heaven and have all eternity to express them to the benefit of others and the glory of God.

Maybe you’re left wondering what’s so special about Colton……Why all of us don’t get to take Colton’s journey. I caution you to remember the cost of blessings. Colton paid one. His family paid one. God’s grace was sufficient for them. God’s grace will be sufficient to what he calls you to too.

The take away is that it pleases God to reveal His mysteries. To make Heaven less of a place we want to escape to and more of a place we want to start living for and taking people with us to someday. Unpack your bags and get excited about the great things God wants to reveal to you about Himself. Love the Word and ask Him to show you deep hidden treasures of truth that will give you purpose and stir creativity in you for others while you’re here.

Let Him show you how he feels about America and the people who love Him all across the world. He’s not looking to punish……He’s longing to promote!  I promise you it’s not what you think. If you feel right now that evil is supremely prevalent and at an all-time worst……… it’s only because Jesus in his brilliance got churches everywhere praying the same thing in unity:

“Your kingdom come, YOUR will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.”

See, we are living in a time that It is God’s will to uncover the darkness and expose it to the light. That’s you and me friend. We are to take that knowledge and do with it what we were created to do…….subdue the earth for God’s glory.
When evil is revealed to you, as a blood-bought believer, you have the authority to pray against it and love those the enemy is using back into the kingdom. Are you ready to see souls saved? Do you hunger to be so amazingly used of God? To be able to love the unlovely, and to carry His glory in such a way that the enemy runs in terror when you put your feet on the ground in the morning?

We are living in one of the best times there has ever been on planet Earth. Allow God to show it to you. Believe Him over and above the TV news (and the internet) and you will begin to enjoy your life and become a vital part of seeing His Kingdom Come and His Spirit poured out on ALL flesh.

I’ll leave you with this verse:

But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”— these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God.
1 Corinthians 2:9-10 – (emphasis mine)

There is no darkness in Heaven……..Let’s start pushing it back on Earth too!

john-15_5509_1280x7681

I adore you……I hope I’ve encouraged you as well,

Rhonda Sue