Freedom

Written by: Vivian Wilson

There are risk takers and then there are those like me who would prefer the comfort and safety of the known, that place of my own making with boundaries and predictability, rather than risk change gave me a false sense of control over my life and the belief that I could trust myself. The truth is I had no real control or any power that could warrant any trust.

From the inside, this box that I built for myself looked safe and comfortable, but from the outside, it looked like a cage. The cage had a lock, but the lock was on the inside. The key to open the lock was to take a risk on the unknown and trust God.

You see what is unknown to me is not unknown to God. And He has a plan to prosper and not to harm me, to give me hope and a future. He wants me to soar to heights I can not even imagine.

I have realized this in the last six months. God has opened doors for me where I didn’t even know they existed through new friends that I didn’t even know at the time. I did not seek out any of the opportunities that have been offered. And each of the three opportunities are way out of my box. I feel inadequate at best and a little afraid at worst.

But I have learned that there is no place for fear in a heart that fully trusts in the goodness and power of God.

I must be in prayer seeking the Father’s will and direction, with an attitude that is open, willing, and trusting. I must surrender my safe, predictable plans to God’s bigger plan for me which He designed especially for me to prosper me, to grow me, to bless me, to use me to bless others, and to ultimately bring glory to Himself.

The safest, best, most rewarding place to be is the place in which God has designed and planned for me.

I am free to risk when I trust God because the truth is, there is no risk if I am in the will of God.

To risk means to expose to the chance of injury, damage, or loss.

Where there would be injury, God can heal.

Where there would be damage, God can repair.

Where there would be loss, God can restore.

So, what can man do to me? The answer is nothing!

Now that I have come out of my self-made prison, the challenge is to stay out. To not let fear of the unknown drive me back into that cage, but to let the unknown challenge me to change, and to grow, to try new things, and to experience life to the fullest.

Are you hiding in a safe place of your own making?

Are you avoiding the risk of change?

Is God calling you to do something that is out of your comfort zone?

I would encourage you to risk and be free!

Isa.40:31 But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles.

Mal.4:2 But for you who revere my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings.

2Cor.5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

1Pet.5:10 And the God of grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast.

Jer.29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Ps.118:6 The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

Still a work in progress,

Vivian