I want to leave a legacy…

Written by: Ms. O

It does not matter how many times I hear this song…it brings me back to “center” again…reminding me of the fact that it is not really all….about …..me.

Humor me as I quote a few lines from Nicole Nordeman’s song:

I want to leave a legacy…how will they remember me?                                        Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough to make a mark on things?             I want to leave an offering…a child of mercy and grace who blessed Your Name… Unapologetically and leave that kind of legacy…                                                Not well traveled, not well read….Not well-to-do or well bred,                                  I just want to hear instead, “Well done good and faithful one.”

I have spent time wondering how I will be remembered….what will stand out about me…that will leave a mark….once my time here is done. I know I love to talk…I am sure many will remember that about me.

When I was very young, my teacher (during our “writing class”) would say our first name and a “describing word” that used the first letter of our name. When it came to me, I said “my name is Linda and I am….,” not wanting to say lovely since that sounded kind of egotistical (or laughable since that sounds just plain dumb)…when she interrupted me by saying you are “loquacious”. I was pretty impressed by such a big word…until I was told what it meant. Hmmm….not too impressive.

My talkativeness has caused me to be known as “the one who asks a lot of questions” or….worse than that…the one who is uncomfortable with silence. I know I won’t be remembered for my sense of style…to start a fashion trend…unless it is the natural look…as in no make up…lack of products used to enhance my hair….or be something I am not. I know my limitations. I would literally laugh out loud if I heard anyone saying, “Wow, I love how she wore her hair…in that lack of fluff way.”…or better yet, “do you remembered how she applied her make up? She needs to be the rep for Cover Girl or Clinique…”…yea right. My rating of the best mascara is when I do apply it, it will last for several days…yes, I admit that without shame.

I used to think I would be remembered as a great mom…and that lasted oh…for a whole day at least. I did not understand how a baby could operate so fully on so little sleep. The first time I lost my temper and was not the Carol Brady I had hoped to be. When my wisdom was switched to “go to your room….and clean it up while you are there”….ugh. I resorted to bribery to get good grades…homework completed…polite behavior…because nothing else seemed to work. By the way…I had four copies given to me of “How to Raise the Strong Willed Child”…and I don’t think Dr. Dobbs would ever be impressed with my motherly skills…since I chunked all four copies.

I think the hardest thing that I have strived to be remembered for is…being a Christian. There…I’ve said it. Perhaps it is because it does not come naturally. It is the way we….humans….have been since we chose the fruit of…us…over God. It takes effort to put others first…to look outside your self…and want the best…for someone else.

Even being a parent…when you pour so much of your self into your kids…you still have hopes that it will be returned. This is a concerted effort on our behalf…to strive to leave a legacy…not for works…but merely out of the Love that God has all ready given to us. I think of Paul’s second letter to Timothy…when I am sure Timothy was struggling to “do right” by God…striving for perfection…but not his own…purely God’s…so Paul has to pull him back…to the legacy he was created for:

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.”                    -2 Timothy 2:15

Can you hear it? The gentle prodding in Paul’s words…reminding Timothy that God has approved him…no one else matters…so stay true to the course…and his work will be coincide with God’s.

I do want to leave a legacy…but nothing that has to do with how I looked….or anything that had to do with “me”…but everything that pointed to Him.

If I strive to draw your eyes to God…my Savior…my Redeemer…my Everything…than His legacy through me is complete. I know one day I will leave this Earth…..and I will stand before God…with some knees trembling…hoping that what I did for Him…will elicit those words…”well done…good and faithful servant.”

Until then…let my gaze…my intentions…the method behind my madness at times…be what reflects God….so it’s not my legacy at all…it is His….because I am forever His….Ms. O.