All about prayer…

Written by: Ms. O

I am all about prayer…in many forms…at any time…for a variety of reasons. Years ago, I could not understood what Paul was talking about in 1 Thessalonians 4:17…

pray without ceasing

Pray without ceasing??? Seriously? My attention span is so not “there”…I can’t stick to a crossword puzzle long enough to solve it if it takes longer than say…five…ten minutes. It was not until I spent a lot of time with some pretty prayer filled people that it occurred to me that my view on prayer was severely limited. I truly envisioned prayer as ONLY when I closed my eyes…bowed my head…said the right intro…made sure it was proper…and finished it with my reverent Amen…and I was done.  Don’t get me wrong…I still pray that like at certain times…there are times that it is totally necessary for me to adapt that posture of prayer for it to make sense to me…at that time. But I have found prayer to be so much more…

It took me many years to realize that God is listening in whether I acknowledge Him or not. I mean really…it’s not like I have to “dial in” to Him…wait for Him to pick up…text me back…send me an email…He is always….there. I find myself conversing with Him all the time. I wonder at times if He regrets that I was enlightened…that my flow of conversation does not end…from the wee early hours of the morning…well before the sun comes up…until I sit still long enough to doze off. I know God does not sleep…but I am sure He wishes I did more.

From the time I found out I was pregnant, I prayed for my children. I would look at them and send up prayers of thanksgiving that He would trust me to be their mom. I would pray for patience…gasp…to work through all the questions asked….the stages I went through…with them. I would pray for guidance to teach my son what it meant to be a Godly man…to treat women with respect, love and kindness…to never forget that he is created to be a caretaker…and all that entails. I would look at my daughter…pray that she would see herself as God sees her…so precious…so beautiful…and that she will never hold back….be bold…so God will be glorified. I prayed as they left went each day for school…..whether it was by bus…driving their own vehicle…or packed up in a moving truck. I believe children are God’s way of teaching us what deep-felt,drop to my knees prayer is all about…and it does not stop…ever.

I have poured my heart out in prayer to God…at my circumstances…with a bruised heart…shaking my fist at the injustice of it all…wondering if He was listening…as if He wouldn’t…knowing that He was hurting as much as I was…crying my tears with me. He knows my deepest hurts…because He hears my whispered prayers in the dark…when it is just me…..and Him. Those intimate prayers bind me to Him…because he knows my secrets…what I hide from the world…because only Him I trust.

When someone asks me to pray for them I don’t have to wait until I get comfortable…or at the kneelers. Think about it this way…it is like when you walk into a conversation between friends…and they open their circle to include you.  When I am asked to pray, their circle…with God…has opened…and I enter into petition for…and with…them…being ever so thankful that I was included in this sacred request. I share in their joy..concerns…in conversation…with our Father.

It is when we limit prayer, we limit who God is…for us. He defies boundaries…can withstand our anger…is able to wipe our tears…always ready to listen…when we join Him in…prayer…conversation…so much more. Prayer is personal…and particular…to who is offering it. I also think we pray before we even know we are…and God understands that. Prayer is God’s love language…the binding of our hearts to His.  Even when we can’t put prayer into words…He knows the groans of our soul….He’s just good like that.

Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; make known among the nations what he has done. Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts. Glory in his holy name; let the hearts o those who seek the Lord rejoice. Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.” 1 Chronicles 16:8-10

I love prayer…I am never alone…He is always present…waiting for…me. The talking I have down pat…it’s the waiting I am working on next…so pray about that…for me.

Ms. O