Best Friends are God’s Instruments

Written by: Vivian Wilson

What’s in a name? Well, in the Bible, quite a lot actually. Sons were named with intent, and the name given revealed quite a lot about the person, or the circumstances under which he was born.  

For example: Abraham means “father of a multitude”; Jacob means “cheater”; and David means “beloved.” You can read in the old testament how their names were significant.

Our culture doesn’t practice this same intentional, meaningful, naming of children.  We choose names that are popular, or names that are not, so as to be unique, or we name them after a family member.
I was named after my grandmother. I was curious about the meaning of my name, so I googled it and found that Vivian means “full of life”.
I love that because it is true now.
But there was a time when that certainly did not describe me. For most of my life, I did not live life, I survived it. Even though I was a believer, I had not received all that was mine in Christ. I still believed the lies of the enemy about my worth and that I was powerless to change.
John 10:10: “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”
But God is faithful. He has promised to finish the work He started, (Phil.1:6) and to make me into the image of His Son. (Rom.8:29).
God is ultimately the One who inspires change or growth. He uses His Word, His Spirit, and He uses other people. We are created to be relational. For this reason He has given us special people in our lives, those whom we would call “intimate friends”, best friends.
A best friend inspires us to be all that we were created to be by inspiring us in our heart, mind, and soul.
I have been blessed to have a best friend who inspires me. She makes me think, she encourages me in my walk with God, she loves and accepts me for who I am, that is grace. She has taught me to be a better “lover” of others  She has inspired me to live life fully.
To live life to the full is to live in the power of God’s love. That is to love Him above all else and to love others  It is love that sets us apart and distinguishes us as disciples.
John 13:35  By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.
1John 4:16 tells us that God is love.
Col.2:9-10  tells us that the fullness of God indwells us.
So don’t be afraid to love with abandon. Risk relationships. Allow that God-given “best friend” relationship to inspire you. Be an inspiration to your best friend.
God’s love will fill your heart so that you can share it with the hurting, broken, people around you.
Best friends are a way that God makes for us to embrace Him with “skin on”.
So celebrate your best friend. Thank God for this wonderful gift. Tell her how much she means to you. Cherish that relationship because she is an instrument in the hand of God that He uses to shape you. Inspire each other to be all you were created to be and to live life fully in the love of God.
My best friend is teaching me to live up to the meaning of my name. My life is full as I walk God’s love and grace, not keeping it for myself but letting it spill into the lives of others.
Do you enjoy life? Are you living it to the full?
Are you an inspiration to your best friend?
Eph.3:17-19  …And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
In Christ’s love,
Vivian