Lessons from a 5 year old

Written by: Vivian Wilson

I had the privilege and pleasure of staying with two of my grandchildren while their parents took a trip to California to celebrate their wedding anniversary.  

Being a grandmother, (they call me Nana), is one of the most wonderful gifts your children can give you. Until you are a grandparent, you can not fully understand the joy and blessings that come with the “job”. For one thing, your grandchildren think you are perfect, they love you no matter what. They think you know everything and can do anything. (Enjoy it while it lasts. Sooner or later they come to their senses and realize you are human.)

On the fourth and last night of my watch, my five year old grandson came to my bedroom and quietly climbed into bed with me. He was distressed. I don’t know if he had a bad dream, or if he was simply missing his mom and dad. But he laid down close to me and put his little hand in mine and brought my arm over his shoulder. As I held him close and stroked his arm, he began to be quieted and soon fell asleep.
I laid there with him in my arms, my heart filled with love as I prayed for him and his sister. I was overwhelmed with the realization that he loved  and trusted me enough to come to me and rest in my embrace because he felt safe and secure.
Likewise, we as children of God have this same privilege. Even in the darkest night we can come confidently into His presence and rest in His protective embrace and find peace. He is waiting, and He delights in us when we trust Him with our fears and insecurities.
Why do we insist on trying to solve every problem or control every situation in our lives when He is waiting with open arms for us simply to come to Him, trusting and resting in Him?
It will serve me well to remember the simple innocence of a five year old who knew the “secret” to peace. When I am distressed, I will go to the waiting arms of the One who loves me more than I can imagine, and rest in His protective, loving embrace.
Matt. 11:28 “Come, to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”
Ps. 36:7  “How priceless is your unfailing love!  Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of your wing.”
Ps. 62:8  “Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.”
What will you do the next time there is unrest in your life?
Will you depend on your own devices, or will you rest in Your Heavenly Father’s loving arms?
Even Nanas are never to old to learn.
Vivian