Attitude is everything.

Written by: Vivian Wilson

An attitude is born in the mind, and lived out in what we say and do.

Our attitude drives how we live out our lives, and how we relate to others.

With the help of a counselor a few years ago, I learned something about myself that really surprised me. I lacked trust in people. This fact was very well disguised because I I always gave people the benefit of the doubt; I was optimistic about most things; I was rarely skeptical or even questioning. I had really been fooled.

Buried beneath my self-deceit, was an attitude of complete distrust.

I realized that if I didn’t trust people, then I probably didn’t really trust God. Although, if you asked me if I trusted God, my answer would have been, “Absolutely! He is sovereign, all-knowing, all-powerful God. He is loving, good, gracious, merciful, forgiving, and faithful.” (ALL TRUE!)

“Why wouldn’t I trust Him?”

But in my mind, I trusted only myself. So, I decided to change my thinking.

I asked God to help me. As I gave up my attitude of distrust, allowing God to teach me to trust Him, I experienced the freedom to be content. I began to know His peace and His joy, and to trust others.

My attitude of distrust wasn’t as obvious as some attitudes might be, though it was every bit as damaging and ugly. Some attitudes are more obvious.

Let me name a few:

Discontentment, negativity, a critical spirit, unworthiness, unforgiveness, anger, bitterness, fear, entitlement, arrogance, pride, self-reliance, and self-sufficiency.

These last two, self-reliance and self-sufficiency, are very similar to distrust.

They say “I don’t need anyone, I can take care of myself.”

These are the attitudes that God is calling me to let go of now. (Last week I told you how cluttered with “mess” my heart is.) He is calling me to surrender my plans, my strengths, and my purposes, to His perfect plan for me.

He is calling me to trust Him…and depend on Him…to accomplish His will in His time.

God clearly tells us what our attitude is to be.

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death—even death on a cross!” (Phil. 2:5-8)

Maybe you are wondering why you don’t have peace and joy, or why you feel discontent. Maybe this is a good time to examine your mind:

What attitude or attitudes could be controlling your life?

What do you need to let go of? 

What do you need to do in your life to have the attitude of Christ?

Still a work in progress…in Christ’s love,
Vivian