God’s Grace is Sufficient

Written by: Vivian Wilson

I hope you will indulge me here. I am going to refer to part of my “marathon career” again. (It probably won’t be the last time).

It was in July, the first month of my training for my first marathon, when I suffered an injury. I had medial tibial stress syndrome, otherwise known as shin splints, in both legs. This is the inflammation of the tissue around the ligaments and bone.  It really hurts when you run and it takes 3-6 months of rest to heal.

Well, I didn’t have 3-6 months to let it heal. I had to be ready to run in January.

There was a way to lessen the pain of running, and that was to wear a special wrap designed especially for shin splints.
So that’s what I did.
These were quite the “fashion statement”. They were black, and covered my legs from the ankle to just below the knee. I wore these wraps every time I ran in training and of course during the marathon. (The “finish photo” captures my wraps quite nicely.)
When I was reading Paul’s letter to the Corinthians, this photo came to mind. Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10,
But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weakness, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
This life we live as followers, disciples, of Christ, is like a marathon. A marathon course is not flat, and it is not straight. Neither is the life of a Christian smooth and easy. There will be hardships and difficulties. God has customized a course for each of us.
The Good News—–He is with us!
When I look at the wraps that covered my injury, I see a picture of God’s Grace covering my weaknesses, enabling me to run the race set before me. With my heart, mind, and soul focused on the finish line, I will one day finish and hear my Father say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”
“Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14
For now, until the race is over, I will be mindful of His wonderful promise.
When the “stuff” of life is hard; when I don’t know have any answers or solutions;  when I come to the end of myself; when I am at my weakest and most vulnerable, that is when I will see God’s grace and power revealed.
Then I will rejoice because it is God’s wonderful, amazing Grace that will carry me across the finish line.
All Honor and Praise belong to Christ Jesus.
Vivian