Exercising Discipline

Written by: Rhonda Sue

For the sake of Horatio………I got a fitness trainer. Her name is April. She’s tiny, perky, sweet, vibrant, enthusiastic and energetic. All the traits one supposes they’ll find in a good trainer.  Oh, and I found out this week that she’s a Christian………which doubles as code for “Jesus is watching….keep your core tight.”

Yep, April’s great alright.  That is, she would be………..except that………

SHE’S TRYING TO KILL ME!!!!!!

I swear to you right now….it hurts to type.  I couldn’t blog about anything else even if I wanted to.  I cannot think past the pain in my left bicep.  I have to use my right hand to put my left arm in it’s sleeve.  My body is actually assisting itself.  I think she broke me.

Which shames me to no end.

If you thought this was going to be a blog on fitness tips……..forget it.  I got nothing for you.  Except to say that the effort is really helping Horatio and my blood pressure.  We’ve been at this for three weeks now and I’ve already been able to cut my meds twice.  For this, I thank God alone.

For the pain……..I blame April.

In truth, I suppose that’s really unfair.  April didn’t hold a gun to my head while I made my meal selections.  Neither did she demand that I sit on the couch and monitor my TV all day.  In fact, April was no where around when I let thoughts of denial flow through my head about the seriousness of not caring for my health better.

Would that she had of been………I might not be so bad off today.

I think I’m beginning to understand (at a heart level) what I’ve been hearing a favorite author of mine say for years:

“We will all have pain in this life.  The pain of discipline which lasts for a time and leads to greatness……..or the pain of regret which last forever and is its own reward.”  Joyce Meyer

We hate this mirror don’t we?  It can seem so hard to bear.  We shy away from giving it too much head space.  Sadly, it’s that fear that keeps us trapped, frustrated and vulnerable to the enemy’s attack.

But hating this mirror has in fact led me despising the full length mirror in my bathroom as well.

I think God says it best:

For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by itHebrews 12:11 ESV

and…

A man without self-control is like a city broken into and left without walls. Proverbs 25:28 ESV

The Holy Spirit pushes me forward.  I’m on the right track. It won’t happen as fast as the drive-thru’s I’ve visited to get me here.  But it will happen.  I’m in it for the long haul.

So pray for me on this journey, will you?  Better yet, join me………….. I’ll introduce you to April………

Now, please excuse me while I go ice my arm.

Rhonda Sue