My Rock

Written by: Vivian Wilson

Several years ago, my brother gave me a rock.

What? Your brother never gave you a rock?

My rock is gray and weighs 3.2 pounds. It’s not a pet or anything; I haven’t named it, but it is special.  What could be so special about a dumb rock, you ask? Well, obviously, because my little brother gave it to me. But, also, because the word “remember” is carved onto its surface.

Remember means “to think of again, to bring back to mind by an effort, recall“.
The word, “remember” is used 168 times in the Bible (NASB).
That is more than “forgive” (61), “grace” (131), or “pray” (109).  This tells me that God thinks it is good to remember.
There are times when our memory is stimulated by our senses.  We see, hear, smell, taste, or touch something, and it may bring back memories which can be good or bad. Other times, our memory is engaged by our will. We choose to remember something. This, too, can be good or bad.
Scripture talks about choosing to remember, or sometimes God puts it this way, “do not forget”.
God commands his children to “Remember the wonders he has done.”  (1Chr.16:12)  and “Be careful that you do not forget the Lord your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws, and his decrees that I am giving you this day.”  (Deut. 8:11)
By definition, remembering involves the past. There are things about my past that I would like to forget. Those are the very things that God has used to teach me and to shape me into the person that I am today. They no longer have power, God has used them for good.
I remember them now as wonders in my life because as scripture teaches,  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of them who love him, and who have been called, according to his purpose.”  (Rom.8:28)
For the present and the future, I will remember what scripture has taught me by the power of the Holy Spirit. In John.14:26, we read, “But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.
I do not want to go through life like a zombie.
I want to live with purpose, engaging my mind, remembering who I am and Whose I am.
And because of  Whose I am, I want to remember with gratitude what He has done for me and all the ways He has blessed me. I have three “perfect” children and their three “perfect” spouses and seven “perfect” grandchildren. He has blessed me with a wonderful family, many friends,  and a wonderful community of brothers and sisters in my church body.
I want to remember what I have learned about loving God with my whole heart, soul, mind, and body.  I want to remember God’s promises to me, that he loves me, that he will never leave me, that he hears me, that he will give me grace, and wisdom, and protection, and that he will provide for me, just to name a few.
All of this is true because of  “THE ROCK”—–JESUS
Begin this day with me by remembering God’s mighty deeds, the wonders he has done in your life, and by giving thanks.
In gratitude for what He has done, is doing, and will do,
Vivian