Mirror, Mirror – Where’s My List?

Written by: Rhonda Sue Page

Guess What?  I had a birthday this week.

Now I’m not one of those people who get overly excited or distracted by them.  However, it did occur to me that I had recently started checking some stuff off my bucket list…so maybe unconsciously I’m feeling my age.

No, I don’t have an actual physical bucket list. (That’s what OLD people do…so they won’t forget.)  It’s mostly just unwritten ideas of things I’d like to do eventually… if I ever get around to it….and if it’s convenient….when I feel like it.  (That’s what YOUNG people do…so they can’t get caught forgetting.)

For instance, I HAVE ALWAYS wanted to be fluent in Spanish.  I grew up in New Mexico hearing it all around me.  Over the years I picked up a whole lot of nouns, colorful adjectives, basic slang, and sadly…all the bad words.  But nothing that would ever take me to Cancun and get me past asking the basics of  “What time is it?”  “Where’s the bathroom?”  and “No really, how hot is your chili?”….

….oh yeah, and pointing out someone wearing green pants and walking a cat. Don’t ask, cuz I’m not even sure how that came up! But should you ever desire to be as cool as me, I’ll throw that one at you for free:

“Ella lleva los pantalones verdes y camina a su gato.”

You’re welcome.

Back to my vague, non-committal, non-existent bucket list…

This past Christmas, I finally bit the bullet and bought Rosetta Stone/Latin America Spanish. Now at any given hour, I can be found cruising the house in my oh-so-fashionable headset parroting the sounds of my online mentor, “Raimundo”. (Roll the R … end it with a flourish people!)

In my mind I sound just like him….super confident and slightly sexy.

Especially when I say “Voy a llenar mi cara con pastel de cumpleanos…. porque puedo.”

(I’m not giving you that one.  You’re on your own.)

Another bucket list item soon to be checked is a trip to Israel.

I have ALWAYS, ALWAYS wanted to go to Israel.  I mean like no where else in the world: GO. TO. ISRAEL.  Comprendes?  Soy muy serio!

No, it doesn’t make sense.  Yes, there probably are much lovelier and less hostile parts on the globe to visit I suppose.  I’m even willing to bet you could steer me toward one of them if I were the least bit fickle………..

………………………BUT I’M NOT!!!!!!……………………

(Pero, no estoy.)

It’s the groupie in me I guess.  I make no apologies…………..Jesus IS my rockstar.

My heart “Horatio” and I are always looking for new ways to connect to Jesus. And this one just seems like a no-brainer. I want to walk where he walked. View the land through his eyes. Smell the earth after a rain. Hear the sounds of that world.

To understand that which is so completely foreign to me,  I want to try, (in some small way) to put myself in that place. I want to be touched by a people he chose to call his own and appreciate them as he did. But more than all that…..I want to stand in the places where Heaven did business with Earth and make His reality more of my own.

I know it’s not magic.

It’s better.

We have the God-given ability to reflect what we worship.  To take on the characteristics of the things we most desire and seek after.  I spent too many years only seeing the negative about that…………… when in fact it is a wondrous gift to be able to spot our own progress and red-flag wrong thinking.  Too often I felt condemned by it…….. when I should have remembered it was there to work for me, not against me.

“…For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at his natural face in a mirror; for once he has looked at himself and gone away, he has immediately forgotten what kind of person he was. But one who looks intently at the perfect law, the law of liberty, and abides by it, not having become a forgetful hearer but an effectual doer, this man will be blessed in what he does.…” (James 1:23-25)

If you find you’re at that point……then take heart. Stick with your faith because you are a masterpiece in the making…not a creation of your own hands – but of His.

Be encouraged!  There comes a point in walking with Jesus where you stop looking for all “the stuff” to fix yourself.  It’s a daily process of trading in the hurts over what hasn’t worked for the grace to trust WHO will work.  Your longing and desire become for him and him alone.

It is at this point we start to hear His invitation “to come” in a different light.  Time spent in his presence holds it’s own reward and becomes a cherished necessity.

A desire to surround ourselves with like-minded believers. People who passionately love God, and distain the petty discords the enemy tries to weave are a treasure to us.

Of all the crazy things on my bucket list, I want most to fully embrace a life that reflects Jesus and calls others to want him, too……It is the cry of my little Horatio.

But you should know……… that wasn’t always the case.  To coin a phrase “You’ve come a long way baby” dates me ….. but it’s true.

Now I find I’m glad for the ability to use The Word as a mirror.  I hope you’ll decide to make it work for you.

There are other things on my mental bucket list too.  But if blogged them out…….. I believe that would constitute as “list”-ing them.

And since “Ahora tengo cuarenta y cuatro años”…….

……..I’m waaaaay too young for that!

¿Qué hay en su lista de deseos?

~Rhonda Sue