Desire delayed—–until now.

Written by: Vivian Wilson

Sunday afternoon, I struggled with an accusation that crept into my mind, which led to the thoughts that I am going to share with you.

This was the accusation: “This is all about you, Vivian, because you know how much you love to write your blog.”  Sadly, I fell for it for a few hours;  and I felt guilty and confused.  I’ve been writing this blog for eight weeks now, and I confess that I feel uncomfortable writing about myself every week.  But the truth is, I can only write about what I know. So is this all about me? The answer is yes and no. The real question is, “What is my motive?”

In 1984, God put a desire in my heart.  I had attended a couple of ladies retreats while I was in the milk-drinking stage of my walk with Jesus.  I heard a woman speak. She was seventy years old, had a great sense of humor, and her words touched my soul.  Her name was Marge Caldwell.  I remember thinking, “I want to be like her.  I want to speak to women and encourage them in their lives.  (I was really very shy then, so I know it wasn’t my idea to stand up in front of a bunch of women and talk.)  I had a lot to learn, a lot of growing to do.  Apparently, I am a slow learner because it took thirty years for God to fulfill that desire.

Psalm 37:4  “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

Romans 8:5  …”but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.”

Colossians 3:1  “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.”

God gave each of us at least one gift.  My gift is encouragement.  This blog is the opportunity God has given me to serve Him.  The “accuser” did me a favor.  He caused me to consider my motive and  my call.  I believe my motive is pure.  It is my desire to be obedient to the One who has called me, and Who has given me whatever wisdom and insight that I might have. Instead of guilt, I have confidence and assurance of God’s love for me and His faithfulness to fulfill the desire that He puts in my heart, and His grace and power in my weakness.

So I will continue to share my life experiences and the truths God teaches me though them.  It is my sincere prayer that my words are, in fact, what God uses to encourage each of you in your journey.

If God has put a desire in your heart that until now has not been met, don’t worry. His timing is perfect and  He will fulfill it when you are ready to receive it. It will be worth waiting for.

By the way, I have a new desire.  (Genesis 2:18  “It is not good for the man to be alone.”)  I want God to give me a Godly man to share the rest of my life with. I hope it doesn’t take Him thirty years to prepare me….I”ll be 95!

Father, make our hearts to be so in tune with your heart, that our desires are your desires. Give us the patience to wait as you prepare us to receive your blessing. Increase our faith and trust in the waiting.  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen

Vivian

One thought on “Desire delayed—–until now.

Comments are closed.