“Wrecks” can drive you to rest

Written by: Vivian Wilson

I was blessed to go with my son and his family to Winter Park, Colorado for a week of skiing.  Now, it has been about twenty years since I last skied, but skiing is like riding a bicycle, right?

Well, sort of.

At 45, I wasn’t quite as cautious as I am at 65. The old gray mare, she ain’t what she used to be. (I would rather think that I am wiser.)  Anyway, it took me longer to “get my ski legs” than I thought it would. At 45, I skied blues – and on occasion, blue-black runs.

At 65, I was all over the greens. On my first run, on the first day…it happened. I was minding my own business, leisurely heading down the mountain, when I was blind-sided by a skier headed down the hill way faster than I was. I never saw him coming. The next thing I knew, I was face down in the snow with one ski off, my head pounding, and my face in pain. After clearing the cobwebs, I was able to continue skiing.  But I woke up the next morning with a black eye to go with my scraped nose, a sore neck from whip lash, and a huge bruise on my right thigh. I decided to rest that day, which enabled me to ski the next three days. (I had a great time and there were no more falls.)

Monday, I had occasion to think about that collision again. I thought how, in real life, we are blind-sided by unexpected and unforeseen circumstances that cause pain or, at the very least, inconvenience, and disrupt our plans. I arrived home from Colorado at 12:30 A.M. on Monday. Along with the usual details of returning from a trip (unpacking, etc.), I had to weather proof my water well and my pygmy palms.
It was completely unplanned and unforeseeable, that I would spend half of the day in the E.R. with my Dad. It turned out that he has the flu, and was admitted to the hospital. I got home at 7:00 P.M. While I was waiting in the E.R., I started to have a “pity party” which didn’t make me feel better, but worse.
Then I remembered.
Just as I had rested from the collision on the mountain, I found rest from the event that had blind-sided me Monday.
Psalm 62:1 says, “My soul finds rest in God alone.
Philippians 4:6,7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
Unexpected wrecks are going to happen. But rather that let them defeat us, we can choose to rest in God and let him restore our strength, so that we can get on with the life He has called us to where we will enjoy His peace in spite of circumstances.
Your older and hopefully wiser Wed. friend,
Vivian

One thought on ““Wrecks” can drive you to rest

Comments are closed.