Why?

Written by Vivian Wilson

Why?

After “Dada”, “Mama”, and “NO!”, a toddler learns the word “WHY?.”  It is a rather innocent sounding word, but when repeated without end from a three year old, it becomes a very obnoxious sound.

Actually it can be a very daring question.  I have been pondering the idea of motivation, and “why?” is at the heart of it. Why do I do the things I do? Why do I say the things I say? Why do I want what I want?  I say it can be daring and maybe a little frightening, too,  because if I ask myself that question in regard to motivation, I may not like the answer.  I may find that I need to repent and change. What if the answer is quilt, pride, retaliation, or to please or something else just as unseemly?

I know that I would like to say that I do everything because of “my love for God.”  Jesus says in the gospel of John chapter 14, verse 15, “If you love me, you will obey what I command.” For emphasis He says again in verse 21, “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.”

I am supposed to love others more than myself; I am supposed to be a humble servant; I am supposed to forgive; I am not supposed to complain; but rather I should rejoice and give thanks in all things. I am supposed to trust God and His sufficient grace at all times. Do I look like this person?  I do not.

BUT HERE IS THE GOOD NEWS!  God isn’t finished with me yet, I am still a work in progress. Phil.3:12-14, I haven’t arrived yet.  My part in this journey of change is to seek Him, and to actually engage my brain during my waking hours, being mindful of the question “WHY?”, even in the smallest and seemingly insignificant details of my day, and to practice loving God by obedience.

It is easy to get caught up in “doing life” without thinking. We can spend our time and energy on the mindless things that seem to be the most demanding (the loudest, if you will) rather than actually doing the things that are the most important, those things that God would have us do.

I have a choice: I can get caught in the trap of “doing life”, or I can intentionally practice thinking about the real “why?” of my actions… and allow God to change me in the areas of my life where the answer is anything but “my love for God.”

Your Wednesday friend,

Vivian