Choice: Anger/Stress OR Peace/Contentment

Written by: Vivian Wilson

Hi, come on in.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving Day.  I spent it with two of my children and their families, my sister and my parents.  It was great! We ate too much, at least I did; we laughed a lot, and we played a lot.

I also learned that my sweet, precious, adorable, Tess, (I’m a grandmother so you must indulge me) has learned a new trick.  When things don’t go her way or she doesn’t get what she wants, she throws herself on the floor, or driveway in this case, and kicks and screams.  She does this until she realizes that her tantrum is not producing the desired results. And as you can see by the picture, she is very good at it.

Vivian_blog 2

The really ugly scene of that week happened at my house the Saturday after Thanksgiving. But, sad to say, it wasn’t Tess having a tantrum. It was me.

Yep, all it took was a phone call at 7:38 a.m. that completely wiped out my plans for the day. My calender is packed with stuff to do every single day until Christmas, I have lists everywhere, and there just aren’t enough hours in the day.  My mom was sick with a stomach bug, and that just wasn’t on any of my lists.  But being a “good daughter” (debatable), I spent the whole day with her, (not with a good attitude), getting home at 7:00 p.m.  I won no gold stars for my attitude that day.

However, there is good news. It was a  very “teachable moment”. Tantrums are a choice. They can only happen when we are self-focused, and I certainly was.

I chose anger and stress over peace and contentment. Now who would do that on purpose? Looking deeper, I also saw that I was angry at myself for procrastinating about things I had put off until later, which was part of the reason that I was in the position that I was in, having too much to do in a short time. It was my own fault. I realize that I had missed an opportunity that day to be blessed. My choice should have been to trust God and to give thanks. Instead I chose to be miserable all day.

Like Tess, I learned that tantrums won’t produce the outcome I want. (I didn’t even feel better after my rant). Peace and contentment come from trusting God and His plans for my days, giving thanks no matter what.

Rejoice always. Pray without ceasing. In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18)

I’ll see you next week,

Nana A.K.A. Vivian

2 thoughts on “Choice: Anger/Stress OR Peace/Contentment

  1. Sorry Viv….I HAD to laugh at the picture. Even more I wished I’d have snapped one when my kids were much smaller.
    Priceless…..

  2. Oh Vivian, this is so me. I love how you put it….choose anger/stress or peace/contentment. PERFECT! ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!

Comments are closed.