Hurry up. But wait…

Written by Ms. O

We are into the season of Advent….the arrival of our Savior…the waiting for the Christ child. I have never been good at waiting. Period. Whoever said, “patience is a virtue” is not my favorite author. I know my strengths….and I know my weaknesses. I can’t even rate patience as a weakness…it is way too far off the chart. Sub zero…stone cold…done. When I was young I did not wait for the appropriate age my mom declared to wear make-up…I would keep it in my locker along with a bottle of make up remover…to make my transformation each day..…go figure. Perhaps all that sneaking around keeps me from wearing make up these days. My mom told me to wait to shave my legs…I did not…and ended up shaving half the skin off my shins…yes…both of them. The law…and my parents…both said I needed to be 16 to drive…well, contrary to that I took my mom’s car out daily after she walked to work….at the age of 15….until I got caught. Who knew that in a small town where everyone knows everyone else that someone would notice a blonde driving a red Vega around…besides the fact that the transmission had to be replaced since I “taught myself” how to drive a 5 speed on the floor. I decided at 18 I was more than ready to get married. I wanted children right away also but my husband told me to wait…and I did for 3 years….which was a HUGE accomplishment at the time. (I think the only reason I was able to wait was he got me a puppy that took me two years to potty train.)

When I became a believer, I was afraid to be impatient…wondering if I appeared too eager ,the Lord would load me up with “things to do.” Over the years, I became very comfortable with my Lord and Savior…and that became clear in my prayer time with Him. There were many times I would be very impatient with HIm…wondering if He heard my prayer…if He had a clue what my desires were and why wasn’t He doing something about it. I truly felt He was either ignoring me or making me suffer for all my ill gotten ways as a youth. Perhaps if I rephrased my prayer…come around the back-side with my request…allow Him to see “my side” as perhaps to sway Him. After years of being angry and resentful towards God the realization hit me. I began to see the true wisdom of God and the abundance of patience He has…with me. I look back now and know it was just as painful for Him as it was for me….as I sit in the waiting period. He is so amazing in the fact that He transcends time…and is waiting there for me…and KNOWS that I had and have things to learn…wounds to heal…and things that need to be done…before I move on. He is not ignoring me…he is preparing me…readying me for what is lying ahead…knowing there is great pain… which moves into incredible gain. “‘For I know the plans I have for you’, said the Lord. ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord’…” I know that passage from Jeremiah is heard over and over again but it wasn’t until lately that I read it with new eyes….to see that when I seek him with ALL my heart…not just the part that says me me me…and pray to Him…He will listen…and be found by me. But the key part is He is waiting.….just as He wants me to be willing AND waiting….plans in His mighty hand…for me to see He’s got this under control…and my future looks golden. So until then…I will wait upon the Lord.

In the waiting….

Ms. O

One thought on “Hurry up. But wait…

  1. Ms. O what a true blessing….. The reference to Jeremiah 29:11 I love…. This verse got me through the tough moments of waiting when Doug lost his job early this year. I too, struggle with patience, but oh, does it cause be to drop to my knees. Thank you for your post today;)

Comments are closed.